Join us!

Emily Drabinski's campaign logo: In the center there is text on an illustration of a sign gives the impression of a spray-painted stencil that reads "Emily for ALA." It is framed by a red circle with white text in a typewriter font that reads "collective power" along the top and "Public good" along the bottom.

There are lots of ways for you to join the campaign and support Emily Drabinski for ALA President! Whether you have time to give, people to connect us to, money to give, or you want to publicly display your enthusiasm for #Emily4ALA, there are plenty of opportunities to join our organizing.

Want to participate in the campaign? We have weekly calls and we coordinate in our #Emily4ALA Slack Channel and the Emily for ALA Facebook Group. Sign up to join the team and see how you can contribute!

Would you like to donate money? We use donations for website costs, campaign swag, and a video commercial.

How can you show your support publicly? We love endorsements (check out our growing page of them!). You can also download the #Emily4ALA avatar frame to use on your social media accounts.

Interested in connecting Emily with your group? You can request that she speak with your organization, cohort, group, committee, etc. Just fill out this form and someone will get back to you. And don’t forget to check out the events listed below!


Events

Texas Library Association (TLA) Talks: Censorship in Academia

Mar 29, 2022 from 3:30 to 4:30 (CT) Register online

Academic libraries are not immune from the push by some state legislators and administrators to quash discussion of “critical race theory” topics and thus threaten academic freedom. Recent threats to remove academic faculty that teach topics that are perceived to be controversial, and question systemic racism also reach to library faculty and staff. 

Past Events

The Promise of Access: book talk with author Daniel Greene

March 9, 2022 at 1:00 PM (eastern). In The Promise of Access, Daniel Greene argues that the problem of poverty became a problem of technology in order to manage the contradictions of a changing economy. Greene will be joined in conversation by Emily Drabinski and Emily Dowie, Teen Librarian at Greenburgh Public Library, Elmsford, NY and founder of the Coalition for Library Workers of Color. Please register for the event to receive the Zoom link.

LIS Pedagogy Talk: Critical Cataloging

Friday, March 11, 2022 at 2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT Register

Moderator: Emily Drabinski, City University of New York

Neo-Liberalization of Academic Services: The Library with Emily Drabinski

Wednesday, March 16, 2022 at 3:00 PM (eastern). Part of the University Council – AFT local 1474 Neo-Liberalization and the Academy Lecture Series. Register for the event to receive the Zoom link.

Organizing Ourselves: Archivists and Our Labor

March 18th, 2022 at 12 noon PST/ 3 PM EST.

Like all workers, archivists deserve the fruits of our labor. And like many workers, we are often denied those fruits thanks to unfair labor practices in our institutions, exploitation of contract employees and unpaid interns, and lack of labor organization. Three thoughtful and engaged information professionals will have a conversation about archivists and our labor environment, and how we can make it better for us all.

Speakers:

Emily Drabinski, Interim Chief Librarian, The Graduate Center, City University of New York

M. Angel Diaz, Curator of the California Ethic & Multicultural Archives, University of California, Santa Barbara

Karly Wildenhaus, Author of “Wages for Intern Work: Denormalizing Unpaid Positions in Archives and Libraries”

Moderator: Ashley Levine, Archivist and Digital Resource Manager, Artifex Press

This event is jointly sponsored by Archivists Against History Repeating Itself and the Concerned Archivists Alliance.

Register to receive the Zoom link.

PLA: Meet Emily at McMenamins Broadway Pub, Portland, OR.

Wednesday, March 23, 2022 at  9 PM – 11 PM EDT at McMenamins Broadway Pub, Portland, OR. RSVP on Facebook

Join Emily Drabinski for a drink, some snacks, and learn more about her vision for American Library Association. How do we build collective power on behalf of the public good using the tools of our member-led organization? Let’s find out together!

Weekly Emily4ALA Campaign Zoom

Every Thursday at 8:00pm (eastern). Sign up with the campaign to receive the Zoom link.


GODORT Friday Chat with Emily Drabinski

Friday, March 4, 2022 at 1pm EST, noon CST, 11am MST, 10am PST online. Register to receive the Zoom link. An informal session for the GODORT community and friends to meet and talk about issues in government information. You do not need to be a GODORT member to attend

North Carolina Library Association: Meet Emily Drabinski

Tuesday, March 1, 2022 at 1:00PM (eastern)

ALA Candidates Forum for Canadian LIS Students

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 at 07:00 PM (eastern)

Libraries & Organizing Panel @ UW

Tuesday, February 8, 2022. 6:00PM (pacific)

What do labor unions have to do with libraries?! How are labor unions critical to pushing for DEI-related changes in institutions like libraries, academia, and beyond?! Attend the panel to find out!

Social Justice Work in Libraries panel discussion

Tuesday, February 15, 2022. 6:00 PM (eastern)

This panel features librarians, library workers, and curators who will discuss the role of social justice in their work and share insights into social justice initiatives that are being led by the library profession. 

ALA Presidential/Treasurer Candidates Forum

Wednesday, February 17, 2022. 1:00PM (central)